Crabs and Shrimps

Crabs, along with most shrimps, form the order Decapoda. As the name suggests, these crustaceans have 5 pairs of legs, of which the front pair is equipped with pincers. They also have leg-like appendages called pleopods. This diverse group includes the crabs, hermit crabs, prawns, lobsters and and various types of shrimps.

Prawns (Suborder Dendrobranchiata)

Lobsters (Infraorder Achelata)

Hermit Crabs and Allies (Infraorder Anomura)

True Crabs (Infraorder Brachyura)

Caridean Shrimps (Infraorder Caridea)